Updates

These are all (nearly) verbatim copies of e-mails I sent to various people to whom I owe accountability in various aspects of my life.

This is a new thing I’m trying. Maybe you should try it too.

Body

Exercise – My only exercise for the day was the bike ride to and from work (20 minutes, combined). Decent toning exercise for the lower quad and butt, bare bones cardio. Could be worse.

Water – Not enough. Maybe 20 oz.

Drugs – 4 cups of coffee, and about 8 oz. tequila (so far).

Food

Brekkers: 20 baby carrots, Orange

Lunch: Southern-style chicken sandwich, Parfait, McDouble

Dinner: Two wonderfully meaty pulled ham sandwiches.

Other: 4 strawberry pop-tarts (yikes, didn’t realize this until now)

Soul

Prayer – Prayed a couple of times this week.

Bible study – Similarly read a couple of times, very concentrated, covered 25 chapters of Genesis. Took a couple of notes. Genesis 14 is super weird.

Fasting – None.

Meditation – None.

Memorization – None.

Worship – Actually engaged in worship at church for the first time in ages. A little distracted by a cute teenager who was giving me eyes.

Serving – None.

Stewardship – None.

Silence and Solitude – I get more of this than anyone I know. It’s fabulous. Probably ten hours this week, minimum.

Journaling – None.

Learning – Always. But not much Christian stuff lately. I’ll have to put some Boyd in the hopper.

Mind

CompTIA A+ Certification

I really had to cut back on my study schedule because I’ve been putting up drywall with Dad on my days off. But I’m still ahead of my original plan.

So far, I’ve finished 20 chapters of 32 and averaged about 8.5/10 on the end-of-chapter quizzes. The study time per chapter has varied from 45 minutes to 2 1/2 hours, with 1 1/2 hours being typical. The book is 1,500 pages, so that means I’ve covered ~900 pages in a little less than five weeks, and ~30 hours of study time.

3 minutes per page is a little pessimistic. I average about 2 minutes per page, but occasionally nature calls and so forth.

Math

Slow going. I read sections 2.2, 2.3, and 2.4, but I only did three problems today. Still, I’ve managed about 300 exercises since I posted my original plan.

Other

Started Summa Theologica, but I’ve barely read enough to mention it. Read chapter 18 of The Bell Curve today. I should really update my reading list for the year before I forget them all.

Social and Financial

Change of jobs, gotta make a first impression. The new place is very corporate, very feminine, very emasculating. This works in my favor, because I can a high return in status for a small amount of Game and effort. And despite the fact that it requires a lot of effort for me, I’ve put on a decent show. At least one, maybe two girls are crushing on me, most of the guys think I’m cool, and I’m fitting in to the culture. If I stick with this job, I’m going to exchange this effort for a manager’s shirt this time, in spite of the fact that it’s a bad deal, financially.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Updates

  1. zeke says:

    I like that you noted the color of your carrots. You should let me know what your new job is because I am very interested.

    Also, I’ve updated my reading list. Is there a way to make it appear on top of my posts without having to copy/paste it to a new one?

  2. You could add it as a sidebar, like Vox does. There’s probably an option to put a text box on the right. It’ll be your only sidebar, so it’ll be at the top of the site.

  3. The carrots were orange, yes, but I also ate an orange.

Leave a Reply

